ANSWERED ON: 13.02.2019
Computerization of Courts
Will the Minister of

LAW AND JUSTICEbe pleased to state:-

(a) whether the Government plans to undertake the computerization of district and subordinate courts, if so, the details thereof;
(b) whether the Government plans to undertake initiatives to train judicial officers in case of computerization of judiciary, if so, the details thereof; and 
(c) the details of budget allocated for computerization of judiciary?


(a) to (c): Yes, Madam. The Government is implementing the e-Courts Mission Mode Project for Information and Communication Technology enablement of district and subordinate courts, across the country, in association with the eCommittee of Hon”ble Supreme Court of India. The steps being taken by the Government to promote the use of technology in the working of the district and subordinate courts are as under: 

(i) The eCourts Mission Mode Project Phase-I was implemented till 2015. At the end of Phase-I, out of the total target of computerisation of 14,249 district and subordinate courts, sites for all 14,249 courts (100%) were made ready for computerisation, out of which LAN was installed at 13,643 courts, hardware was provided in 13,436 courts and software was installed in 13,672 courts. Laptops were provided to 14,309 judicial officers and change management exercise was completed in all the High Courts. Video Conferencing facility was operationalised between 488 court complexes and 342 corresponding jails.

(ii) Over 14,000 Judicial Officers were trained in the use of UBUNTU-Linux Operating System and more than 4,000 court staff have been trained as System Administrators in Case Information System (CIS). 

(iii) The eCourts Mission Mode Project Phase-II is being implemented for a period of four years (2015-19) or until the project is completed, whichever is later. Against the financial outlay of Rs.1, 670 crores in the second phase, Rs.1,154.66 crores have been released, including Rs.931.3 crores to High Courts. Rs.632.30 crore have been utilised by the High Courts. 

(iv) Computerisation of 16,845 district and subordinate courts has been completed, through provisioning of computer hardware, Local Area Network (LAN), and installation of standard application software in district and subordinate courts. The details of computerised district and subordinate courts under various High Courts are at Annexure-I.

(v) One of the important eCourts project components is establishment of Wide Area Network (WAN) connecting all District and Subordinate court complexes, spread across the country. The eCommittee of Supreme Court of India gave approval to award the eCourts’ WAN project to BSNL. Work order to the tune of Rs. 169 crores has been awarded to BSNL for establishing Wide Area Network (WAN) connecting 2992 district and subordinate court complexes across the country, including 547 court complexes with no connectivity. 

(vi) All the district and subordinate courts computerized under eCourts project have been linked to National Judicial Data Grid (NJDG), which is a common repository of case records across the country. The portal also provides online information to citizens including litigants such as details of case registration, cause list, case status, daily orders, and final judgments. 

(vii) E-Courts mobile app with the facility of QR Code was launched on 22.07.2017 for use of litigants and lawyers. Services under different captions viz. Search by CNR, Case Status, Cause List and My Cases are available on this application. Furthermore, the facility of providing case information services through SMS has also been implemented and the process of disseminating system-generated SMSs is operational. 

(viii) During the Phase II, till date, 174.47 crore electronic transactions have been recorded for eCourts through eTaal portal. The eCourts transactions have thus emerged as one of the topmost accessed services of the Government of India.
S. No. Name of the High Court Number of computerised district and subordinate courts
1. Allahabad 2,072
2. Andhra Pradesh & Telangana 1,078
3. Bombay 2,079
4. Calcutta 811
5. Chhattisgarh 357
6. Delhi 427
7. Gauhati 496
8. Gujarat 1,108
9. Himachal Pradesh 119
10. Jammu And Kashmir 218
11. Jharkhand 351
12. Karnataka 897
13. Kerala 486
14. Madras 1,032
15. Madhya Pradesh 1,293
16. Manipur 37
17. Meghalaya 39
18. Orissa 534
19. Patna 1,025
20. Punjab And Haryana 1,018
21. Rajasthan 1,094
22. Sikkim 19
23. Uttarakhand 186
24. Tripura 69
Total 16,845